They then only must wait six months to get a license. House Bill would extend the permit phase from six months to one year for drivers younger than AAA said the measure would allow Ohio to cruise into a more modern approach to driving, to give teens more experience behind the wheel to keep everyone safe.
Getting a driver's license is a rite of passage for many teenagers. But sadly, car crashes are the number one cause of death for young people. Many scientists argue that year-olds just aren't mature enough to drive.
Then they must wait six months before getting a license. Under a recently introduced bill to the Ohio House of Representatives, the permit phase would be extend from six months to one year for drivers under the age of The proposal would also require new drivers to be supervised after 10 p.
Aaron Manis turns 16 years old on Thursday, April He did not think the bill that would require teens to wait a full 12 months would be a good idea, saying it would be tough on his parents. Manis' mother, Lisa, said her oldest child has managed his time effectively to fit in 24 hours of classroom instruction, 50 hours of driving with her and her husband and another eight hours with a driving instructor, all in a six-month period. First, he said, many teen drivers scramble to fit in all their requirements because they wait until the last minute, especially because they can now take their 24 hours of classroom instruction online.
Let friends in your social network know what you are reading about. A link has been sent to your friend's email address. A link has been posted to your Facebook feed.
Ohio lawmakers think teens need another year of practice before getting a license at age 16 and a half. Under a new, bipartisan proposalyoung drivers would need to wait one year after obtaining their temporary learner's permit before testing for a license. They could still get a permit at age 15 and a half.
Obtaining your Ohio drivers license is an absolute wonderful feeling as it offers you freedom, fun, and confidence. But there are Ohio teen driving laws you'll need to follow before earning your full license. These rules will put you on the right course to becoming a safe and responsible driver.
Individuals with disabilities may contact Becky Richey at pubfile 10tv. All Rights Reserved. Every year, young drivers in Ohio are involved in an average of 8, crashes involving injury or death.
In Ohio, there are different paths for young drivers to obtain a license depending on their age, experience, and purpose for driving. Beginning at 15 and a half years old, a person can take a written and vision test to obtain a temporary instruction permit. Instruction permit holders are prohibited from driving between the hours of midnight and 6 a.